Precision Driving School
Learn to Drive With Precision™
° Classroom Drivers Education
Local DMV Offices
California teens that are under 18 and at least 15 ½ can apply for a provisional driver license. The first step to getting a provisional driver license is to get a California instruction permit as known as a "learner's permit". The permit and driver license are called "Provisional" because teens are under age 18. This means there are additional restrictions placed on the permit and driver license that adults (18 and over) do not have.
In order to be eligible to test for and receive a provisional instruction permit, teens must:
It is strongly recommended that you make an appointment by calling the DMV Appointment Reservation line @ 800-777-0133. Teens applying for and taking the written exam for a provisional instruction license will also need to bring the following documents with them and a parent or legal guardian:
At the DMV, you will need to pay the application fee, currently $31, give your thumb print, have your photograph taken and successfully pass the traffic laws and signs test with at least 38 questions right out of 46. You will have 3 chances to take the test, but if you fail a test you must wait 7 days before taking the test again. If you fail the test all 3 times, you must start over by filling out a new DL 44.
Once you receive your provisional instruction license, you must complete your first behind-the-wheel driver training lesson and have your driving school validate your permit. Please remember, you are not legal to drive, even with your parents until you have completed your first driver training lesson and your driving school validates your permit.
For more information on obtaining a provisional instruction license, please visit the DMV's web page on applying for a permit if you are under 18.
You must hold your permit for at least six months and it will have the following restrictions:
Once you are at least 16 years of age, have held your permit for at least six months, completed 6 hours of professional instruction with a driving school and are in possession of an OL238 Certificate of Completion of behind-the-Wheel Driver Training, and have completed an additional 50 hours of practice with your parents or guardian, you are eligible to take your drive test at the DMV.
You must make an appointment with the DMV to take your drive test, walk-ins are not allowed. You can schedule an appointment for your drive test by calling the DMV Appointment Reservation line @ 800-777-0133 or by using the DMV online reservation system.
For more information on the behind-the-wheel drive test, please visit the DMV's web page on applying for a permit if you are under 18.
Secretary LaHood Applauds Massachusetts for Tough Anti-Texting Ban
Secretary LaHood: Wyoming Becomes the 20th State to Ban Texting While Driving
Secretary LaHood Applauds Kansas on New Law Banning Texting For All Drivers
Secretary LaHood Applauds Georgia Governor for Signing Law Banning Texting While Driving
Secretary LaHood Applauds Vermont Governor for Signing Law Banning Texting While Driving
Secretary LaHood: Michigan Becomes the 24th State to Ban Texting
U.S. Department of Transportation Teams with ESPN and State Farm To Go 'On the Road' to Wipe Out Distracted Driving
Washington State Toughens Cell Phone and Texting Ban
Louisiana Toughens Texting Ban
Wisconsin Becomes 25th State to Pass Texting Ban for All Drivers
Secretary LaHood Praises Delaware for Tough New Ban on Texting and Cell Phone Use
Secretary LaHood Applauds Kentucky and Nebraska Bans on Texting for All Drivers
Iowa Bans Texting for All Drivers; Stops All Cell Phone Use by Teens
Research on Drowsy Driving
Breakthrough Research on Real-World Driver Behavior Released
Research on Drowsy Driving
Policy Statement and Compiled FAQs on Distracted Driving
Precision Driving School Central Valley
3343 Santa Fe Street Suite E
Riverbank, California 95367